Resources  >  News

2019 Slag Cement Award Nomination Process and Applications

DEADLINE EXTENDED: Friday, November 8th, 2019 to SCA Executive Director, Drew Burns

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2019 Slag Cement Project of the Year Awards.  Projects in the USA completed or scheduled to be completed between January 1, 2018 and December 31, 2019 are encouraged to apply.  Completed applications and any questions can be sent to SCA Executive Director, Drew Burns and are due by Friday November, 8th at 5PM EST. 

2019 SCA Construction Award Nomination Form


Research Award Program

The SCA successfully incorporated a research award to its 2018 program, and by popular demand will be bringing it back again this year. Full instructions are located in the application below. 

Program Highlights: 

  • The nominations are open to any U.S. or Canadian college or university student or group of students that have done research that includes the use of Ground Granulated Blast Furnace Slag, more commonly known as slag cement. 
  • Winning nominations will receive a $1,000 stipend for expenses to attend the awards ceremony at the 2020 Spring ACI Convention in Rosemont, IL. 
  • See an overview of last year's winning projects here

2019 SCA Research Award Nomination Form

SCA Award Program Information

The Slag Cement Association (SCA) has been honoring the exceptional use of slag cement in concrete construction since 2010 with the Slag Cement Project of the Year Awards.  The 2018 awards ceremony took place at the ACI Spring Convention in Quebec City, Canada on Wednesday, March 28th, 2019 during the session “Slag Cement in Durable Concrete”. SCA representatives presented the awards to winning teams in attendance and gave an overview of each project to session attendees. Research award winners were able to give a 10 minute presentation on their projects to attendees. 

 “The SCA awards program has always been focused on honoring the innovative use of slag cement in durable concrete. Adding this research category to the lineup has been a great way to expand that concept while getting students involved.”  

Ed Griffith, SCA Board President

Stay Connected with SCA

Sign up for our newsletter.

Join us on Facebook.

Follow us on Twitter.